Thread: Help With Compressing Video Files

Default Help With Compressing Video Files

If this is the wrong forum, lock it up or move it.

Back story: Web based business.
    Mass amounts of media (specifically video files).
    Videos are ~20 mins in length.
    Yes, I'm aware we'll probably need unmetered bandwidth.
    Yes, I'm aware of the amount of storage we need.
    I've got the above two covered.

I have limited video editing experience but I am completely green when it comes to compressing and uploading videos and the best methods for doing so. I've done a bit of research but, to be honest, I'm not exactly sure what I should be looking for. Anybody with any sort of experience in this area? Basically what I'm looking for is reliable, relatively cost effective editing software (if not, I'm not too concerned with price) and what that's going to give me as far as compression effectiveness goes. For instance, if I have a file that's 2GB, roughly what size will that file end up being? Sorry if any of these questions are trivial or kind of dumb; I'm fairly new to this haha.

Again, sorry if this post isn't suitable for this forum.
    Last edited by ffuture; 02-11-2011 at 11:15 AM.

I recommend more consideration of your delivery system. Whilst your server may have sufficient bandwidth; your clients may not. Those with larger bandwidth may expect higher quality video; those with poor connections may find the download too slow. In theory, one can compress a 2Gb file into almost any size. Whilst the file will be smaller; the quality will degrade. Another factor is the size of the video image. A video with less width and height will also create a smaller file.
    IMHO, a better option would be to use dedicated http video streaming software on the server (available on most platforms).
    I know this does not answer your question, but I think you should decide your preferred delivery mechanism; as that may affect the choice of the most suitable compression systems.