Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Capturing Video to an External Hard Drive Using Studio 8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    8

    Default Capturing Video to an External Hard Drive Using Studio 8

    Hi,
    Being a complete novice, I hope I can ask this question in a way in which it makes sense.
    I purchased a Buslink 60 Gig Combo external HD so I could capture my video to it instead of using my C drive which is only 40 Gigs.
    When I try to capture to the External drive I get a Pop Up box which states, "Sorry cannot capture"The data rate on drive G is less than the required rate of 4444 Kbyte/second.
    When I go into Setup Options and click on "Test Data Rate" it tells me
    read 33004 Kbytes/sec Write 20402 Kbytes/sec Drive G is capable of capuring DV Data

    Can someone help me figure this out? I have sucessfully created several DVD's capturing data to my C drive but it takes up almost all my space. The whole idea of spending the money for the external drive was to use it to capture.

    Using Dell Dimension 4500, P4 2.00GHz 1.99 GHz 512 RAM
    Running WinXP Home
    Thanks much.....if you need more info. just ask.
    Jeane

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Probably the only solution for you would be to capture to the internal drive, then transfer the captured footage to the external drive.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    OK Thanks...
    Another question...If I capture the video to my C drive, Will there only be one file to transfer to the G drive?
    I know when I did the whole thing on the C drive (editing,rendering,etc) there were several files in different places on my C drive.
    Does this question make sense?
    Jeane

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Are you using scene detection - that's where Studio will automatically split your video into different files. You probably will have more than one file _ my reccomendation is to turn this off and capture files manually _ that way you'll be able to give your clips sensible names!

    You might also want to download DVIO (do a google search ) to capture you video, then import your videos to Studio.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    OK..Thanks for your help.
    Jeane

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    OK...Another problem
    I downloaded DVIO and captured a video file which I saved to my hard drive under a name I could remember. The file size is 4.59 GB. When I tried to transfer to my external Hard Drive it told me I didn't have enough disk space to do so. I have 12 Gigs free on my C drive and 75 Gigs free on my External.
    I looked under properties on both drives. The file system on my C drive is NTFS. The file system on my external drive is FAT 32. Is this a problem? Should they both be the same? I think I read somewhere that the max. file size for FAT 32 is 4.0 Gigs.
    Can anyone help???
    Thanks
    Jeane

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France, Europe
    Posts
    67

    Default

    You are right. FAT32 can't go above 4 gigs, indeed sometimes it won't go over 2 gigs in some cases (can't remember which).

    You will either have to keep captures below 4 gig or convert the external hard drive to NTFS (NTFS has better security options and can take larger files, but it cannot be read on a Windows 95/98 or ME computer).

    Regards,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks,
    How would you go about converting the external drive to NTFS?
    Jeane

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Paris, France, Europe
    Posts
    67

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you very much for this information!! It doesn't look *too* hard.
    I will start backing up my files and try to muster up the courage.
    Thanks again,
    Jeane

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. External hard drive?
    By Rob in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-11-2007, 09:41 PM
  2. External Hard Drive Problem
    By MStrutt in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-11-2006, 07:01 PM
  3. External Hard drive problem.
    By Jizzo in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2006, 09:28 AM
  4. External Hard Drive messing with picture??
    By lateralus in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 06:22 PM
  5. Perfect External Hard Drive?
    By PTN in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-30-2005, 03:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •