Thread: Loss of transferred image quality - but via firewire

Default Loss of transferred image quality - but via firewire

Hi. Although I have been using a camcorder for a while, I'm new to the world of editing and use. I recently decided to transfer the many hours of footage of the children growing up from dv cassette to disc, via Windows movie maker, as I don't have any other software at the moment. All of the footage was taken on a Sharp Viewcam VL-Z1, which I've had for several years.

I accepted the default options for transfer in Movie Maker and the first cassette transfered fine. As my old PC doesn't have a writable DVD drive, I used Nero to burn a short sample to CD, to try to play on the TV from our DVD player. It seemed quite dark so I hooked up the camcorder and played the same section at approximately the same time on the TV, switching between channels. There is clearly a loss of quality in the transferred footage.

The question is - where did this happen? I used firewire so I don't think it's a usb transfer rate problem. Could it be in the option I used in Movie Maker? As I said, I used the defaults (AVI, I think). Or is it because I used a CD?

I'd be grateful for any help or advice anyone can offer.

Many thanks.

Jim

Blog Entries

There's a couple of conflicting issues here I think...
    Quote Originally Posted by Sharpuser View Post
    ..I used firewire so I don't think it's a usb transfer rate problem..
    Firewire and USB are two completely different things... which did you use?

Second -
    I used Nero to burn a short sample to CD, to try to play on the TV from our DVD player..
    A CD will not have taken DVD compatible files (mpeg2) - so what settings did you render out at and put on your CD?

Incidentally - external DVD burners are so cheap these days - I'd advise you go get one and get away from CD's.

Andy,

Thanks for responding. To clarify: