Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: PC won’t output finished movie back to DV camcorder

  1. #1

    Default PC won’t output finished movie back to DV camcorder

    I’ve captured the raw DV clips from the camcorder, edited them, rendered them but can’t get them back to the camcorder. With even a 15 sec test movie the camcorder screen either shows ‘pause’ with a still of the first clip - It then reads ‘play’ and the image immediately pixellates to black with the editing program player window shows elapsed time running at about ¼ real time, or it remains black through ‘pause’ and ‘play’ with the elapsed time stuck on 0.15 secs, this then jumps to read several secs. when play is halted.

    I don’t think it’s the program (Studio 7 ver. 15.1.0) as the same effect is there with movie maker 2 and Ulead video studio. Its not the camcorder (Pansasonic MX or the firewire lead as these will accept clips from an eMac.

    I run Studio 7 fresh from start up, no wallpaper, no screen saver, no background programs, no power off schemes, resolution set at 1024 x 768, colour 16 bit. I’ve updated DirectX, and display (Nvidia Geforce2 MX) drivers. Mobo and bios drivers are the latest

    What do I do next? How can I cure the problem?

    PC set up details:
    OS – XP ver. 5.1.2600
    CPU – athlon XP 133
    Mobo Kinetiz -7E-A (chipset VIA 82C305 rev3)
    RAM – 256K
    HDD - 40 gig transfers data at 20500+ Kb?sec
    Video card – Nvidia Geforce2 MX
    Video capture device - legacy
    Firewire card is OHCI compliant

    Camcorder Panasonic MX8 – UK (PAL) version

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I too am some what of a newbie. I am also using the Ulead Video Studio 5 and have found that after going through the motions, capturing, editing and finalising I cant get it back to the DV cam. It keeps saying something about wrong format. What is the best format to capture ?? frmae rates etc

    Simon

  4. #4

    Default

    Checked the thread, got the patch. Makes no difference.
    Any other ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    I only know about Ulead Video Studio. Its not the capture that matters (It will capture in AVI format). Its the project and output settings that matter. Make sure that the project settings for creation, or rendering, of your movie are set to 'DV Video Encoder - Type 1'. This is the correct format for writing back to a DV IN enabled camcorder.

    Hope that works

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Wherebouts is that setting changed??

    And when you say DV in that is firewire back to cam right ??

    Sorry NEWBIE alert right here !!!!

    SF

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    In the 'Finish' stage of your movie set the output to,

    'MS DV Record' if you have XP or Windows 2000

    'TI DV Record' if you have Windows 95 or 98

    Hope that helps.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thanx champ ....

    SF

Similar Threads

  1. Please help- my edited movie won't output back to tape
    By Ang in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 08:34 PM
  2. Finished Movie Too Big
    By Madshadow in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-10-2006, 08:12 PM
  3. Finished Movie has gaps
    By Swisskiwi in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-23-2005, 05:46 AM
  4. problem on recording back to dv camcorder
    By dts in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 06:19 AM
  5. Transferring Video Back to Camcorder
    By japher in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-23-2004, 04:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •