Thread: Camera or software?

Default Camera or software?

I had decided that, for work, we should purchase a Panasonic HMC150 camera and go with Final Cut for editing. However, today I came across several videos shot with consumer HD camcorders that were edited using some type of effect from a Red Giant program like Magic Bullet. These videos look amazing! I'm pushing the budget with the camera and the purchase of a Mac and now I'm wondering if I should go with a camera that, with accessories, is around $1200.00 total and spend some of the budget on Magic Bullet. I'm a beginner with a camera but a decent editor using Sony Vegas. With a smaller camera, I can get some lights and maybe an Azden wireless mic kit that's listed on B and H for $147.00. Any thoughts? Camera or Magic Bullet? Which is better if you can only chose one?

I'd go for the camera. A lot of the magic bullet looks can be done with the tools in Vegas anyway.

Default thank you!!

Thanks so much!

4. Default

> today I came across several videos shot with consumer HD camcorders that were edited using
    > some type of effect from a Red Giant program like Magic Bullet. These videos look amazing!

Could you link to the videos? Are they all in one place?
    I just bought an HD consumer camera, and I'm not impressed with it.
    If you don't have the link(s) bookmarked, don't worry.

Default links

Quote Originally Posted by -Anti- View Post
    > today I came across several videos shot with consumer HD camcorders that were edited using
    > some type of effect from a Red Giant program like Magic Bullet. These videos look amazing!

Could you link to the videos? Are they all in one place?
    I just bought an HD consumer camera, and I'm not impressed with it.
    If you don't have the link(s) bookmarked, don't worry.