Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help enhancing a recording from 1929!

1. Default Need help enhancing a recording from 1929!

I've got a recording of a piano piece from 1929 that I'd like to enhance to sound as good as possible. I'm not very experienced in audio editing however, so if you could give me suggestions or ideas on how to do it I would get a lot further on my way.

I've tried to do some basic things myself, like using Audacity to remove the sizzle of the old rock cake or LP or whatever it first appeared on, and the audio seemed to be preserved without any notable loss. However, the louder sections still had some crackles and unwanted noise in them, is there some way to edit that out?

I'm also wondering if there is some way to artificially edit or enhance the audio (through samples or otherwise) to sound better than the primitive mic's of the time recorded it`? Like clearer or how a more modern recording would sound?

I've attached a short bit of the original, unedited recording so you can check out what I have to work with. Any way you can help me is appreciated!

PS. If you'd like to try and edit yourself, just ask me and I'll send you the full recording at a higher bit rate.

A couple of observations:

This already sounds exceptional for a 1929 recording. I've got very few from the late 20s that are as good sonically. I can make it quite a bit better though if you want to post the entire tune.

There are programs for automatically removing clicks and pops, but it's better by far to zoom in to individual samples and do it by hand/sight when possible. There are a couple of different ways to attack hiss. A Cedar NR unit (both hardware and software versions have their uses) is generally the best way to go, but it's very expensive. Most of us settle for less sophisticated software methods. I use Audition's built-in noise reduction. It's quite good.