Thread: Opinions on my work?

Default Opinions on my work?

Hi, just posting my latest wedding for critique!

Carly + Matthew // Highlights

Cheers!

Joe
    Last edited by JosephYoung; 01-27-2011 at 09:35 PM.

I’m no expert as I’m just starting out but to me that look excellent, the bride looked a bit camera shy on a few shots but that doesn’t take away from the video at all. Had a look at your website to, some really good work on there. Did get you get all the footage from a single camera by your self ?

Cheers zjayz, yes the bride was a bit camera shy, it helps when theyre not!

I use two cameras but operate them both myself, each has a different lens, one is a on a tripod/track, one is round my neck on a steadicam. I'd miss loads of shots having to change lenses and accessories.

Hi Joseph. Nice colours and a great Winter location. Have you watched this without sound? Try it!
    Some of the swirling camera work was fab, but then . . . there was more and more. It seems this method is used to disguise a wobbly cam more than for artistic effect.
    Your editing would be improved immensely if you would allow the pan and tilts to finish their arc before moving onto the next shot. it's really irritating to be swept into an arc (which should always lead into something) then part way into the arc, swept into another half completed shot.
    I'm sure the tog spoilt more than a few shots, but the continuity was jarring. I know what you were trying to do cause I've seen it done so well by others, but unless there's an emotional attachment to the flashback it falls a little flat.
    Watch without sound and you'll see all this and more.
    Add more variety to your shots, tighten up the edits and the world is your lobster.