Thread: old film look for project

Default old film look for project

Hi,

Does any one know how I can get an old film look when filming using digital format. I want to create the effects like you would get when you shoot with a 16mm camera with all the dirt and colours.

Does anyone know of a quick way to do this? I would expect this to be done in post but I don't want to send too much, i dont really have a budget, it is for my course work.

Thanks,

P

Yes, most Editing programs will do this sort of thing either as a single effect or a combination of them. Even WIndows Movie Maker can do it.

really? cool how can i find the effects? sorry I am quite new to editing and it is my first time using Final Cut Pro.

I was searching online and found this Luca Visual FX have you ever used it before? the demos looks like the type of thing i am looking for. Do you know if is it any good?

Check out this tutorial on Video co pilot: VIDEO COPILOT | After Effects Tutorials, Plug-ins and Stock Footage for Post Production Professionals . It shows you how to do an effect like this in After Effects. It also gives you some stock footage of an old film reel which you use to create the effect. You can download a free 30 day trial of After Effects from the Adobe website.

or if you have an iPhone, the 8mm app cost just 1.25 and IMO is more authentic looking than the plug ins for editing programs. i realise this might not be the ideal solution if your footage is already in the can.....

here's some i did earlier ....

http://www.videoforums.co.uk/just-fu...ne-camera.html

Hello,
    I use Final Cut Pro. I imported a filter, 'Aged Film', which I found on Final Cut Pro / Express Plugins by Eiperle CGM
    It is free, and it works fine for me, so what more must it be. Good luck to thee.
    greetings from Holland
    Is videofilmen je hobby? Kijk hier!

Hi,

Thank you for your replies!

I thought I would give you all a quick update.