Thread: Memory - tape/solid state/SD ???

Default Memory - tape/solid state/SD ???

Apologies if this hasn't been posted in quite the right area.

I'm still trying to get my head around the various options for recording - I know many aspects of videography are purely down to personal opinion/preference/experience.

Do people still prefer to record on tape? And how does the quality and size compare to that of say solid state memory/SD cards/MiniDV/HDD - I'll admit I'm quite confused by all the thousands of abbreviations used in the video world. I'm not a techie geek by nature, although my other half is, so I've picked up some knowledge just from being around him & his computery/tech equipment.

If somebody could enlighten me on the benefits and/or disadvantages of the above - and provide a short, sweet guide for dummies, one would be very grateful!

DV Tape record is recording digitally onto a Mini DV Tape, the advantage is that it makes a good file format for editing. This disadvantage is that it has to be captured in real time via a firewire cable and runs the risk of dropping frames if not set up right. HD tape cameras are getting to be a bit rare these days. These are now been fazed out by cameras that record onto memory cards otherwise known as Solid state memory or SD Cards.