Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Video Camera vs DSLR

Default Video Camera vs DSLR

I'm fairly new to video although I've had to do a very small element of videoing at work and it is something I'm interested in persuing as a hobby.

I notice a lot of people seem to use DSLRs to shoot video rather than a specific video camera. Could somebody tell me why? I don't understand how a DSLR, whose primary use (and design?) has been for still photography, can provide a quality video to match that of expensive video equipment.

Surely a video camera has way more to offer in terms of functionality and settings than a DSLR?

Please feel free to tell me if I'm wrong!

Many thanks!

Your not wrong at all, DSLR's are just a cheap way of getting full HD footage onto a large size sensor with a range of fully manual operating lenses to chose from. You could spend 5-10k on a DSLR and lenses where up until very recently a dedicated video camera with similar size sensor and a similar range of lenses would be well upwards of 100k.

The video camera would be far more versatile.

But it really depends on what you want to do and how much money you have on what's the right tool for the job. DSLR's are allowing for a great deal of creativity to be put into to budgets that wouldn't normally allow a certain level of production. They are a serious full manual, large sensor tool with a great control over depth of field, and you really need to know what to do with them. These video's are well worth a watch. The ad was shot using 12 7D's, plus POV cameras.

David.
    Last edited by david walsh; 01-25-2011 at 01:03 PM.

As David says, the image quality and control on dSLR's is very good. Where the dSLR loses out is in the audio department, with many of the cheaper models not even having a mic jack, and then only a standard stereo jack on the better ones. This can be overcome by the use of adaptors, but adds to the price.!
    I have six honest, serving men. They taught me all I knew.