Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HD Pro or Prosumer Cam needed. Budget 1200

Default HD Pro or Prosumer Cam needed. Budget 1200

Hi guys

I recently started shooting video for a website project and have been offered some serious work from it. Until now I have been renting an XH-A1 quite cheaply. However, this won't be cost effective for the amount of time I will now need to have the camera. So I need to invest. To be honest, I never achieved great imagery with the XH-A1, but I'm sure that was down to practise. If I have my own camera then I can play with it until I get the picture I'm looking for.

Anyway, I have a budget of 1k and can stretch to 1500 if absolutely necessary.

The main requirements are: Good quality imagery. HD, Good audio inputs. I would MUCH prefer to use solid state. But I realise this might not be possible on my budget.

99% of the footage will be in a studio environment.

I'm quite willing to go for 2nd hand. In fact I think it's a given.

I'd really appreciate some help with this. It's a nightmare when you're new to a technology.

This could get you going!
    I have six honest, serving men. They taught me all I knew.
    Their names are What and Why and When. And How and Where and Who! (Rudyard Kipling)
    http://www.sharpmedia.org.uk

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by IanA View Post
    This could get you going!
    Hmmmm. I think the following is relevant:

The Sony HXR-MC2000E Camcorder is a perfect entry-level AVCHD camcorder that gives the professional shoulder mount look whilst being light and portable. (My emboldening)

It's a single 1/4in sensor, which would immediately rule it out in my book.
    Tim

Spooky Ian. I found that camera last night and have it open on a tab.

Good point about the sensor size though. Would this really be an issue?

The video I am doing will all be web based. But that said I want it to be v.good quality and the option to burn to DVD in rare circumstances.