Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Zooming in on video

  1. #1

    Default Zooming in on video

    I videotaped a play with 4 cameras. I have one camera which is a wide shot. I would like to zoom in on the stage and I tried the zoom tool in Premiere 6.5 and it distorted the video. Is it possible to zoom in in a video clip without it getting distorted.

    Thank You

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Not really, because you're zooming in on information that doesn't exist :-/

  3. #3

    Default

    If you don't have enough 'tight' footage from a 4 camera set-up to make the edit you need then you'e doing something wrong. Perhaps a little bit of preplanning will help enormously in your next production........but rest assured the same thing has happened to all the best directors in the world in the past. They've learnt, and so will you

  4. #4

    Default Excuse me

    Hello,

    It was just a question. I have loads of tight footage, I have been in this business for 15 yrs with many video jobs before this. let's not always assume asking a question means your dealing with someone without experince. I did pre-plan and also recorded the audio digitally in 24 track and have 200 orders after one week. So please dont insult someone you have no idea about. I guess some people just assume they are better than others.

    Thank You

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    ooh, touchy. Don't ask questions if you don't want honest answers. You're such a seasoned pro that you didn't know that zooming in on video would decrease the quality? Come off it.

    Several people give you good advice and offer constructive help, and you moan like a kid. I bet you're 15, rather than having had 15 years' experience.

    You know where the door is.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default Re: Excuse me

    Quote Originally Posted by amd250
    So please dont insult someone you have no idea about. I guess some people just assume they are better than others.
    Pardon?

    I can't see anyone being insulting! The vast majority of people that ask questions on here are people starting from scratch. How were we to know that you are a seasoned pro if you don't tell us. We're more than happy to help, but don't have a go at us if we tell you something you already know, because we're not mind readers.

    Now pull up a chair, sit down, and mine's a decaff caramel latte thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Although I doubt our new friend is listening, it may be worth reiterating Mike's point for the benefit of any other visitors. From my limited experience, 95% of the people who ask questions on this board are absolute amateurs/beginners (much like myself) who - either explicitly, because they tell us, or implicitly - by the nature of the questions they ask - know very little. Thus, that tends to be our starting point. There's nothing in the question above that would lead anyone to intuit that this was someone who knew what he was talking about - in fact, as has been pointed out, the converse was perhaps true. So, for those of you of a prickly bordering on paranoid persuasion, if you think you know everything there is to know - except for the answer to your question - please tell us first so we can calibrate our responses appropriately.
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

Similar Threads

  1. Zooming-PLEASE HELP!
    By Onomoto in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-21-2006, 10:15 PM
  2. zooming from a photo
    By innocent_bystander in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-09-2006, 03:12 PM
  3. Zooming in??
    By murph in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-05-2005, 05:11 PM
  4. Zooming in with elements
    By jaym01 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-08-2005, 06:35 AM
  5. Is zooming in possible in PM6.5 (Mac) itself?
    By kippie in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2004, 09:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •