Thread: Lav Shootout! Rode, Tram, Sanken & Sennheiser

Default Lav Shootout! Rode, Tram, Sanken & Sennheiser

Hello audio people! I was just out searching for an "audio-for-video" forum and found this one. I really love mics (not that I have too many) and learning whatever I can from those more seasoned than myself. I make my living producing video in any capacity the client requires. I also do audio gigs like boom op, or post audio, voice over work, jingle writing / performing. Lately I have been reviewing/demoing mics and enjoying the process. Below is one I did comparing 4 lavs that I have used. Which one do you like the best?

Thanks for posting Chad. I found the informative and interesting. I think the Tram TR50 sounded best to me on my PC speakers.

Blog Entries

Ditto Midnight with the thanks. Very interesting. All the mics sounded good, but certainly displayed different characteristics. My guess would be that the Sanken is most "transparent". It appears brighter - probably with too much in the higher frequencies for it to be useful without further treatment, but it's easy enough to roll off some top to nake it sound a bit sweeter, whereas if the detail isn't captured in the first place, you don't get the choice.
    The Tram was certainly the warmest though the others seemed to have a similar tone. The Sennheiser seemed pretty flat - with no identifiable "character" and the Rode almost too flat - if there can be such a thing.
    Tim