Thread: Has Anyone Used the Sony HVR A1P??

Default Has Anyone Used the Sony HVR A1P??

Hi Folks,

Has anyone had a chance to play with the Sony HVR A1P? I am looking at buying an ex-lease model. It is over half the retail price, so I thought it might be a good deal.

It is for some projects I wish to take on next year (a mini docco and some corporate video work). I am not a pro, and don't wish to spend a massive amount of cash, but I want something above entry level in terms of features, and that has credibility when shooting in a professional business environment.

I would love to hear from anyone who has used this model and has some constructive advise.

Many Thanks!!

I've got one of the larger Sony cams, so not this one, but one thing I can tell you is that it only has a 7-lux low light rating. That's incredibly bad. It's a small cam with a very narrow range lens which means you'll end up using a wide angle lens filter with it for almost every interior shot. (It only has a 37mm thread size which is about half of what you'd expect from a cam in this price range). And you have to use the touch screen to make a lot of important adjustments. Most people don't seem to like touch screens. You're constantly cleaning them. This unit also has a bottom loading cassette whcih can be rather inconvenient when using a tripod. I personally think it's a very over-priced cam and that you'd be far better off buying something used.

Thanks Swoopie!

What is the minimum low light rating you would recommend for inside shooting? Also, what difference does the wide angle lens filter make to low light situations?

OK... Maybe a better question: for the same price range - what would you recommend?

Thanks for the response!