Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: dvd-lab pro vs. dvda opinions for a vegas 5 user?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    new york, ny
    Posts
    5

    Default dvd-lab pro vs. dvda opinions for a vegas 5 user?

    Hello,

    I'm using the trial version of DVD-Lab Pro to author dvd's right now, and I'm also using Vegas to edit. I've never used DVD Arch. before, and while I like DVD Lab, I wonder if DVD Arch. might be a better choice to buy, since its made to be used with Vegas. I've narrowed it down to these two, as to which to buy, so I was wondering if anyone who has used either can give any insight as to which would be better or worse.

    Thanks very much,

    Matt

  2. #2

    Default

    I have never used Vegas, But DVD lab is awesome.
    Its the funnest one to use because you can do so many different things
    and really make your DVD look professional, its worth the 99 or 199 bucks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    DVD architect 2 has the benefit of a very similar interface to Vegas. It does pretty much everything, although being `made to be used with Vegas` has absolutley nothing to do with anything. Once you have your files to compile the DVD, the choice of authoring software should be made (I believe) on each packages merits.
    For reference, I am very satisfied with DVD Architect.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    new york, ny
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the input. I'm leaning toward DVDA, which would cost me about 300 bucks. DVD-Lab Pro would be cheaper, but after I buy the AC-3 encoder which, unless I'm mistaken, is not included with DVD-Lab Pro (as it is with DVDA), the costs comparatively would be about the same, give or take. I guess I was wondering if anyone who had the opportunity to use both DVDA and DVD-Lab had any thoughts on the matter.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    115

    Default

    if you demux your files in dvd lab and u made them with ac3 files (dd) then it will encode with whats there, no need for any license etc.

    I have made some real complex dvds, at proffesional standards using it, but it is limited, in some ways, just on the very very complex things like when u pick a chapter u can program a dvd to play a file then the chapter, but i beleive dvd lab doesnt have these little gritty extras and flexability.

Similar Threads

  1. New user to Vegas
    By Deaf Raiders in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2006, 08:51 PM
  2. some help needed on DVDA
    By jonnyc747 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 01:07 PM
  3. New Vegas user Group
    By vegasarian in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2006, 09:05 PM
  4. vegas 6 no video, new user
    By simonbratt99 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-26-2006, 10:57 PM
  5. To the user that has a problem with Vegas capture
    By Marc Peters in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 12:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •