Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The beginning of something Big! Edinburgh - new to forums.

Default The beginning of something Big! Edinburgh - new to forums.

Hello there

My name is Costas, im 20, and have been making and editing films since i was about 14, ranging from drama to World of Warcraft Gaming footage (ending in 200 Ive now moved on to Motorsports and modified cars these past 2 years.
    In total ive released over 14 films, and received the better part of 20,000 views.

Im self taught, had no education in filming or photography at all. I like most of you, started off small, windows movie maker, rubbish camera but slowly and surely ive worked my way up. I can realisticly see my film making improve aswell with every film. Critism has helped alot aswell.

This forum is a godsend to me, it never even crossed my mind to look for film editing forums, even though im quite active on car forums (im a car enthusiast myself) Its been really hard to learn and adapt in relation to editing... Equipment etc. Ive tried learning as much as i can by other successfull film editers, and going through as many free tutorials as possible, as i crave knowledge and the ability to get better.

Ive never known in person any film editors, so this forum is like a library to me. I anticipate ill be very active here.

My Goals?
    To be the best i possibly can be at editing/shooting/directing (ive not settled on a specific field yet)
    I want next year to be the biggest improvement so far for my filming skills.
    I want to buy 2-3 HD Hero portable cameras (to attach to cars for action shots), im after but not quite sure which camera to go for (best value for money) but i want a new main camera, a HD camera, budget is around 800. But dont have a clue which to go for.
    New tripod, with a fluid head.
    New PC to make rendering etc faster. Or might just upgrade my current one, Unsure wether to stick with XP or go windows 7.