Thread: HDV Storage Tapes

1. Default HDV Storage Tapes

Hey Guys

Got afew questions. First of all, with so many cameras on the market i basically picked one and hoping for the best it costs about $3500 AU. Its The HVR V1, i am going to be using for snowboarding skating surfing ect and wanted to know if it would suit this field of work? now if your going to give me some other cameras please dont go over $5000 au haha.

Now with the HDV tapes is it possible to buy over 300 of them and once all the memory has been used in one i can change it over and use the next one. Then when i get back home put it in my camera and put them onto my computer or RAID.

Also when converting HDV footage onto a computer or RAID do i need some kind of converting software or can i edit straight away or do i need some kind of special extra kit because they are tapes not solid. Never used tapes before. I have a mac tower btw or will have.

Thanks alot,
    shan.

I'm no camera expert, but as far as the storage and capturing I can probably help. You should be able to capture the footage straight from the tape to whatever software you're using by attaching the camera to your mac using a fire wire. As for your HDV tapes question I'm not really sure what your asking, you can use as many as you like as long as you don't record over you footage. I believe they are usually 63 minute tapes, so you record this ammount of real time footage, label it up and put in a new tape.

3. Default

thanks alot mate!

what i mean is lets say i come in from a day of filming and have two HDV tapes i put them away in storage and i do this for afew months, then when i come back home i have lets say i have 100 tapes do i need to put them in my camera one by one to upload them to my computer?