Thread: extreme noob doesnt know where to begin :P

Default extreme noob doesnt know where to begin :P

i appologize if this is in bad taste, some forums dont take well to extreme noobs, but im kind of frustrated with finding the info i need on the web so i figured i would take a more personal approach.

first of all, a little background. I'm 18 and i've been shooting photography for about 6 or 7 years now and im making a bit of a name for myself in the local extreme sports community. so im not a complete noob when it comes to visual arts, i know exposure and the mechanics of operating a video camera and composition and lighting and all of the hardware aspects. anyways, as im developing my passion into more of a business through ad campaigns for local sponsored riders and the shops (mainly kiteboarding, snow kiting, but i also work with bmx and skateboard and other fun stuff) i find myself wanting to leap into the big world of video.

anyways my real concern is with software. in photography post processing is extremely important to the photo, it makes or breaks a shot, im assuming video is similar, but i have no idea where to start.

im looking to make videos like this: which i know wont come without many years of experience but thats kind of the end goal.

so where to begin with making a video like this? i know the camera and composition aspects, but im specifically wondering what kind of post processing was used. the way the colors are and the focus obviously isnt natural and im wondering how that is achieved (i dont need a tutorial, just point me in the right direction :P).

my photo assistant has final cut pro which we are both slowly learning to use, we also have a 7d and some lenses for video, i might add a nikon body with video as i have a quite large nikon system for photography. we've built dolleys and a jib.