Thread: 3 minute short for college - advice

Default 3 minute short for college - advice

Hi all,

I'm a multimedia student who recently finished my first movie project. It had to be 3 minutes long and called 'The Meeting'. It was marked on camera angles and lighting.

Only joined here today, but it seems like a great place to get advice and help.

If anyone has time to watch the short and point out things I can improve on, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks.

Blog Entries

It's great to see a movie for which the brief was specific (in this case an exercise in two particular aspects) where someone has taken the trouble to ensure that engaging the audience is still the most important thing.

Nice story, nice humour, and I always love a postscript. Choice of music was bang on - we know exactly what's happening within half a beat of "Je t'aime".

But for the brief: I thought the lighting was generally very good (not that I know anything about how it's achieved, only the results), though I found some of the shots ended up looking substantially warmer than others (eg the putting on makeup was very yellow, whereas the shots in the office were distincly "cold" - apart from the lingerie on the floor shot, which for me caught the perfect balance)

I have to say the mix of camera angles was very good: I didn't get bored with any shot or feel anything was repeating, and yet I didn't "notice" our viewpoint changing from one shot to another - I didn't find myself suddenly thinking "that's an interesting angle" or "I wonder how they got that shot" - which is exactly how it should be: the shots followed logically and helped rather than hindered the flow of the story. I found the continuity between the shot angles very good: case in point when she glances up at the clock tower, the angle you shot the tower at is absolutely perfect.