Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What format should you sve to in Sony Vegas 9 if you want to use for TV work?

Default What format should you sve to in Sony Vegas 9 if you want to use for TV work?

Been asked to film a short interview that might be used on tv and am not sure what format to save it in.

I am using Sony Vegas 9.

Also is it standard practice to put any footage onto a disc and then forward it on to tv company?

Dont have a clue as I am new to this game.

Usually Betacam and HDCam are the best way to go, but HDV is often fine too--ask. Also ask what delivery medium they want because every station is different when it comes to that. And don't forget to add around 30-seconds of color bars and test tones to the front of the video. Ask them what level the test tones should be at. Any station will have a data sheet with the specs they want for video delivery. And for pete sake, don't do anything stupid like normalizing the audio!

Quote Originally Posted by Swoopie View Post
    Usually Betacam and HDCam are the best way to go, but HDV is often fine too--ask. Also ask what delivery medium they want because every station is different when it comes to that. And don't forget to add around 30-seconds of color bars and test tones to the front of the video. Ask them what level the test tones should be at. Any station will have a data sheet with the specs they want for video delivery. And for pete sake, don't do anything stupid like normalizing the audio!

Thanks for the reply.

I am very new to this game so not not doing somthing stupid wont be a problem as I dont have a clue where to start or finnish.

Quote Originally Posted by porkypara View Post
    I am very new to this game so not not doing somthing stupid wont be a problem as I dont have a clue where to start or finnish.