Thread: How do I learn this effect?

1. Default How do I learn this effect?

Im using Premiere Pro CS4 and I have never used After Effects but Im ready to learn!

Im DESPERATE to learn how to acheive the effect you see in the first 30 seconds of this clip from 'American: The Bill Hicks Story':

Can anyone point me to some good tuorials on how to do this? I assume it IS done with After Effects, right?

No extremely techie answers please! Im still a noob.

No extreme techie answers needed.

3. Default

Thanks for the link, thats great!

Do you know of any more detailed tutorials, bearingin mind that I have never used After effects?

The best place I know of for AE tutorials is HERE. I pay them a visit and look for 3D photo Effect. Infact as I feeling much better from my flu HERE IS THE PAGE YOU NEED

The video co-pilot tutorials are normally great, but better for people who know their way around the software a bit. If you want to learn the software, to then be able to take advantage of these tutorials to their fullest, an excellent place to look is Software training online-tutorials for Adobe, Microsoft, Apple & more

They have a more structured outlook to their tutorials that would do you more good. It's not free, but is well worth the money, and they always do a few of the earlier tutorials free allowing you to get a bit of a grounding.

It's just another option.

To do this technique in particular you can do it directly inside after effects, there's no need to go to photoshop.

The main things you want to learn are masking, the paint brush and clone stamp tools, 3d layers and camera depth of field. The first tutorial above has some nice clean painting/cloning involved, but no mention of it having been done. The video co-pilot has some very rough clone stamping, even in the sample he done earlier.