Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CS4 Resize clip

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default CS4 Resize clip

    Hi, I am new to this forum and video editing. Most things I can find answers to by browsing google but this one has me stumped.

    I am importing a video 720x480 into adobe premiere pro cs4 using DV-Pal Widescreen but the video clip ia smaller than the project so I have a black border all the way around the clip. I have tried changing the interupt footage which resizes the clip but does not remove the border, I have also tried to change the scale under motion but it is set to 100 and wont enlarge any further. So as is I end up with a small video on a black background. There has to be a setting somewhere that can change the size.


    Baz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Right click on the clip, and then select "scale to frame size".

    Edit: if you this is the only size clips you are importing, create a new sequence with NTSC settings.
    Last edited by Marc Peters; 12-05-2010 at 04:13 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi, Thanks but I tried "scale to frame size" it did nothing I then imported in to NTSC Settings and "scale to frame size" made the clip smaller.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    720x480 are the dimensions of SD NTSC; in theory your video should fill the entire frame size with these settings. Are you sure that the video is 720x480? IF you right click on the clip in the bin and then select properties, what does the pop up say?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi, I just checked properties and your right I had the image size wrong its 720x576.

    Type: MPEG Movie
    File Size: 1.6 GB
    Image Size: 720 x 576
    Pixel Depth: 32
    Frame Rate: 25.00
    Source Audio Format: 48000 Hz - compressed - Stereo
    Project Audio Format: 48000 Hz - 32 bit floating point - Stereo
    Total Duration: 00:51:15:05
    Average Data Rate: 546 KB / second
    Pixel Aspect Ratio: 1.094

    Baz

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    It sounds like the video isn't widescreen. Have you tried in a "standard" sequence?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Yes I have and i have lines at the top and bottom, But I wanted the video clip in widescreen, if I am stuck with 4:3 then I am but there has to be a way to stretch or resize the clip to 16:9

    Baz

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Then it's back to scale under motion . Manually type 130 in this option.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Fantastic that worked thanks.

    Baz

Similar Threads

  1. Crop and Resize
    By f22loader in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 12:20 PM
  2. How to resize an image
    By Methicone in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 01:16 PM
  3. Resize PLEASE
    By CrazyMobster in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2007, 03:55 AM
  4. How to Resize a Video?
    By blankdenim in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-27-2007, 03:55 AM
  5. Resize still to import to studio
    By Edward L Roberts in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 12:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •