Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Camcorder compatibility

  1. #1

    Default Camcorder compatibility

    Since loading SP2, my Panasonic is no longer recognised. When following the link for device compatibility we're directed only to the USA where the only supported PAL compatable brand is SONY. Any ideas?
    Since loading Windows SP2 my Panasonic camcorder is not recognised.
    DV device compatibility database on Adobe site is for USA only. The only PAL brand offered is Sony.
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    More info please... camcorder model etc? have you tried contacting panasonic?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    has the firewall came on by any chance? Turn it off if so. SP2's a piece of shit, incidentally.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    My friend Mr. Lipring (or Michael R Lipring or whatever... ) has it about right on SP2. I heard countless stories of it screwing up viditing systems, which is why I've never installed it. I know that doesn't help you...
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Unfortunately, you're going to have to get used to it: MS are making it mandatory from April 12th I think.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Bollocks to MS and 'mandatory'. 'Mandatory' for what? Continued provision of support via their helpline? I don't think so. Who the **** does Bill Gates think he is, anyway?
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Well I finally bit the bullet and installed SP2 when I found out that the Premier Pro High def update (1.5.1) only runs on SP2. I installed it and guess what?????

    Everything is fine

    No issues whatsoever to date.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    I think that's the thing. Inevitably, the installations that fall over get the publicity - the ones that don't, you don't hear about. I'm just fundamentally unlucky, so I'm not disposed to take the chance of I don't have to.
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  9. #9

    Default

    I installed SP2, no problems, capture is fine from Panasonic and Sony before and after. But I did disable the firewall as soon as it was installed.
    Panasonic SD9, Panasonic NVGS-75, Canon MV600i

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    I remember everybody moaning about things not working under the first version of windows XP when it first came out, saying how rubbish it was and that they'd never use it, they'd stick with what they already had thankyouverymuch.

    Now guess what OS they're using...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. openGL compatibility in after effects
    By odroller in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-24-2006, 01:41 AM
  2. DVD / Apple compatibility
    By Peter I in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2006, 04:14 PM
  3. Camcorder compatibility question.
    By richard67 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2006, 01:31 PM
  4. DVD Compatibility
    By Benjibum in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-06-2006, 11:47 PM
  5. Burned DVD compatibility probs
    By janvier in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 12:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •