Thread: Critical Analysis of a video

1. Default Critical Analysis of a video

Hey Guys, this is my first time uploading a video to this forum its still not fished as I must add a voice over and credits but from a video side of things any pointers for what I could change within the video?

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Well done for having a go. My comments may come across as negative, but I do appreciate that you have made a real effort to bring life to this video. If you make it through my bad comments, you'll see there's lots I like as well!

It's a bit difficult to know what to say as we don't know who your audience is, what the v/o is going to contain or what message you're trying to get across. But i'm not going to let that stop me!

The thing that stood out like a sore thumb for me was the variable quality of the video. I've just paused at 2.08. OK so there's an awful lot of spray and white water about, but thepicture looks grey and dead. This perhaps wouldn't be so noticable - it might even be a feature - if it was all a bit like this, but immediately afterwards, at 2:10, we have a beautifully crisp and vibrant shot - also full of white water and no doubt spray, but this time full of life.

Similarly, a lot of the film is shakey hand-held stuff. There is really no excuse for this in shots like the landscape pans around 1min. Equally so the skyward looking shot which preceeded these. Was the coloured shadow on that shot an added effect or an optical aberration? It didn't look right to me.