Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stepping up to HD

Default Stepping up to HD

Am about to step up from standard format and was looking at HD camcorders when I realised that such a move will probably trigger upgrade requirements elsewhere. So with that in mind, in order to make the transition I believe I will need

HD camcorder
    PC capable of handling HD video
    HD Editing Software

Setting aside the camcorder I am assuming that minimum spec PC will need
    64 bit architecture
    8MB RAM
    Decent graphics card
    Dual Core Processor
    500 gig sata HD
    Blu Ray Burner

Editing Software I intend to use is latest version Prem Elements (is this OK)

Am I missing anything ? Any comments, alternative options ?

Bottom line is that I am a keen amateur that wants to shoot burn and watch HD film on my blu ray video

Thx Rich
    Dell Dual Core Pentium 3 GB Ram 500 GB (7200 rpm) SATA Drive 128 MB ATI Radeon Graphics (TV out & DVI) 16x DVD+/-RW Dual layer

I would recommend a quad core processor for your PC. You will also find that only having a 500Gb HD will soon get filled up. It is best to have a system that has at least 2 drives. One for the OS (operating System (Windows) and programs and one for the media. This would be the most basic system for HD editing.

The editing software is a personal choice. I use Sony Vegas Pro 9.
    Last edited by Midnight Blue; 12-02-2010 at 12:31 PM.

OK thx - with regard to seperating the OS from the media, am I right in saying that I house the OS and all other applications on Drive A and Prem Elements plus all video footage on Drive B
    Dell Dual Core Pentium 3 GB Ram 500 GB (7200 rpm) SATA Drive 128 MB ATI Radeon Graphics (TV out & DVI) 16x DVD+/-RW Dual layer

Quote Originally Posted by rpwall View Post
    OK thx - with regard to seperating the OS from the media, am I right in saying that I house the OS and all other applications on Drive A and Prem Elements plus all video footage on Drive B