Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RE:HELP NEEDED WITH TRANSFER OF VIDEO TO DVD

Default RE:HELP NEEDED WITH TRANSFER OF VIDEO TO DVD

Greetings to all from the uk, I am new to video editing and have been trying out Adobe Premier Elements (waiting for the full programme to come via post should get it by tomorrow), What I want to know is this which format do I export the video to DVD in for playback on a stand alone home dvd player is it MPEG2.

And also do I edit the video in DV AVI format,render the video and then convert the video to MPEG2 before exporting to DVD, My sincere thanks for any help received. I use my camcorder to record warm up gigs for my friends Rock band.
    HELPING OTHERS COSTS NOTHING BUT GIVES EVERYTHING

I'm not sure what the workflow is in Elements but DVD production certainly does want MPEG2. but there is another step. you do not just burn MPEG2 files to a DVD and put it in your DVD player.

Basically 3 stages to go through to end up with a DVD

1. Edit the raw footage with Premiere Elemants etc
    2. Encode to MPEG2 with VirtualDub ( Free download here http://www.virtualdub.org ) or similar
    3. Import these into a DVD authoring software, insert menus etc if wanted, and then burn

Each process has its fair share of quirks and intricacies, and sometimes problems.

Have a good look around the DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring section on this site for more detailed explanations of DVD making

Best of luck, Shiner

Certainyl the noirmal workflow. But he's using Premiere Elephants - an all-in-one package hence my comment about not being sure what the workflow was for him.

With the band videos I will be editing approximately 2 hours of video consisting of two 1 hour mini dv tapes which I hope to transfer as one 2 hour DVD is this possible with premier elements using dual layer Discs?