Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lighting Setup - talking heads

Default Lighting Setup - talking heads

I'm about to launch a corporate video channel at work which will consist mainly of talking head videos. I'm shooting with a consumer camcorder (Sony HDRCX305EB) and would like to purchase a simple lighting system to improve the visual quality and to attempt to get a consistent look to the videos regardless of the lighting in different offices/time of day etc.

I'm a total noob so have been reading up on lighting techniques and think that three point lighting will suffice. I'd like to use softboxes for the key and fill light... not sure about what to use for the back-light.

I'm looking to spend around 250. Does anyone know of a good starter kit for three point lighting? Or even a mid-range brand that I should consider? These are in the right price range but perhaps a little cheap looking.

What about THESE, The price is well within your budget you could get two pairs and we could split the rest between us. (only joking)

Surrey, England

Hi all,

I am about to take the plunge and buy some lighting as well. Can anybody tell me if this will do me for a starter kit?

3000 watts Quartz Light kit with Twin Umbrella Kit - 315 | Continuous Light Kits - Backdropsource

I am looking to conduct interviews mainly. Thanks in advance

If it's mainly for interviews, I'd go for soft boxes rather than umbrella style lights. This will give you a nicer light for peoples faces. They are usually like umbrellas with a Velcro tear off front. I'm not an expert on the different makes of lights. Example link is in my previous post above.

The ideal starter lighting kit and the ideal kit for talking heads is the basic, set of three redheads (800watt) with barn doors, it is a very versatile system and wont ever get abandoned as a "used to be used" starter set.