Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting Started.........HELP!!!!

Default Getting Started.........HELP!!!!

Hi, I am very new to this and about to film my first ever wedding, I have done filming before and have a degree in Media production (television and radio). I have decided to make some use of this degree. I have a video camera, tripod and a digital camera (second camera until can afford new video camera), I do however have a few questions:

1) What other equipment would be recommend I get?

2)I am thinking of live streaming parts of the wedding, however not sure best way to do this, any suggestions?

3)Where is best to advertise? I am based in the North East of England, South Shields

Thanks now to anyone who can help me

Your 1st wedding and you're thinking about live streaming it too?!**
    Don't even think about that until you've done at least a dozen otherwise you'll be passing out through stress.
    I'm sure you're confident that your media degree will be all the experience you'll need to swan around demonstrating your technical prowess during the day . . . but it won't.
    Come post again when you've filmed and edited your 1st wedding. You'll soon notice, there are huge gaps in continuity that many cover up with a dissolve thinking that's good enough. . . . It ain't! Not if you intend to still be here in 5 years anyway. Clients are media savvy too and notice these things.
    A wedding will test your anticipation skills to the max. Regular colour balancing, manual focus and iris control and that's apart from the inevitable procedure changes.
    Requesting advance notice of intended, unfolding events, you will be very lucky to be in the right place to get them all. This will come after about a dozen weddings and even then you'll need the eyes of an eagle and the wits of an owl.
    Extra equipment = A radio mic for the ceremony and speeches.(ok some will use Zoom audio recorders, placed somewhere discreet)