Thread: complete beginners guide on how to get started.

Default complete beginners guide on how to get started.

first of all let me say hello to everyone.

im really intrested in how to get started in editing, what i need is someone to point me in the right direction in course's or hands on training with a person who can show me the ropes.

i dont have a lot of money to do expensive course's. all help and a point in the right direction will be greatful

many thanks

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Hi Sean and welcome.

As you are no doubt aware, whilst it can be very creative, editing is just the technical part of assembling your footage and so a broad general understanding of filmmaking as a whole will help tremendously. You could do a lot worse than start here:

Now, for the specifics. Do you have a PC or Mac (and if not we'll probably have to pause while you reasarch buying one)? Do you have editing software? Do you wnat to use freebies or do you want to buy? - Popular "consumer" packages can cost from 50 to 100 (maybe a bit more) and you can buy the 500+ pro packages if you develop and feel the need. But you certainly don't need that to get started.

Do you have a camera? What sort of movies does it take (ie what format - file type "codec" - if you post make & model here we can help with this). Or maybe you want to edit cips from elsewhere. I'd strongly suggest you work on your own material, or at least material which has been filmed to be put together. Making something up from random clips rarely succeeds (though it can be very successful in an experienced editor's hands)

Back to you

Blog Entries