Thread: Audio Editing in Sony Vegas 10

Post Audio Editing in Sony Vegas 10

Hello everybody, im new to Sony Vegas but ive taken a multimedia class with Final Cut, so i grasp alot of the basic functions of Sony Vegas...
    I wish to take bits and peices of a larger audio track and edit them for my own uses. I don't know how to do this without copying the whole track, cutting one little part, deleting the rest of the track, and repeating the process for every tidbit i want edited. Its very time and data consuming, and i know theirs got to be an easier way. Anybody got any bright ideas?

BTW, i have GoldWave for audio editing.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by XeroKeeper View Post
    ... I don't know how to do this without copying the whole track, cutting one little part, deleting the rest of the track, and repeating the process for every tidbit i want edited..
    If you want to edit something - inevitably there will be work involved... I'm not sure how you think any program would know what edits you want, where, when and how.... The only shortcut you can use to perhaps loop a section, is to get that portion, copy it and paste it after the first... other than that - I think you have some work ahead of you.

Blog Entries

I think I understand what you are trying to do, correct me if I'm wrong:
    From, say a 10 minute piece you want 10 seconds starting at 0:45, three seconds starting at 1:20, five seconds starting at 3.23 .... etc

And what you're doing at the moment is loading the track, selecting the first 10 secs you want and deleting the rest, loading the track, selecting the second (3 secs) you want then deleting the rest....yes?

That's the way you'd have to do it in GoldWave (I'm pretty sure)

In Vegas it's much easier:

Load the track.
    Make a selection for each bit you want to keep and "split" at either end: This can be done in a number of ways,