Thread: Advice Please - How do you decide on prices ?

Default Advice Please - How do you decide on prices ?

I am a Media Student currently studying by third year in college. I have been editing videos as a hobby for at least four years now, using Sony Vegas as my editing software. Recently, I made myself what can only be seen as a "holiday video" using holiday photos that had been taken over the past four years, due to the fact I always return to the same place. Afterwards, I had a couple of enquiries about it with people asking if I would make one for them, offering to pay. Of course, this was a pleasant surprise and something I would definitely like to explore however I am not sure how to go about it.

I do not class myself as a strict professional - I am good at what I do, though I am aware that what I produce could be seen as amateur. Therefore, I am not interested in going so far as to offer work at weddings nor am I interested in doing the directing/photography myself - I would merely be doing the editing, which could take me 2-3 days. My questions is -

How much roughly should I charge ?

This is an idea of what I mean by holiday videos, using the two that I have previously made. One was mine and the other was a freebie for a friend in order to use as advertising in the future should I take this further:

I also know that I need to charge for the DVD cost and also postage it will cost to send it once it is complete. I am aware that music is often added into the price as well. If anyone could give me a tad more information on this, it would be great. As I said, this is only a small "business" I am hoping to create, something to help me earn money while I finish my course and something that will hopefully get me money for future holidays. I have already had a few questions about it, I just need help on how I go about it and what prices I should give other people ?

Blog Entries