Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to film the skies?

1. Default How to film the skies?

Hi Digital Directors,

Ive got a bit of an unusual question but none the less I hope some of you can help giving me a bit of insight on this,
    since im still a total rookie on how to go about doing this.

Ive recently bought a panasonic SD700 and I'm not sure what extras I need to get the most out of my shots.

The conditions I'm filming in are outdoor open areas with usually a bit of wind and sun.
    I also have to shoot at awkward angles, since the main objects are RC aircraft and helicopters flying nearly overhead.

One thing has made itself abundantly clear after the first filming session though,
    built in microphones are a nightmare when you are filming in windy conditions.
    So can anyone suggest a cheap(ish) external microphone that are coldshoe compatible?
    Ive read some things about Rode mics, but they do seem a bit expensive (+200 dollars).

Also, is it recommended to use some sort of circular polarizer filter?
    Ive seen the effects of them and I wonder if this would help make the sky pop a bit nicer while tracking aircraft.

Tracking aircraft is what brings me to the next question.
    Is there a way to stabilize the shot without getting bound to a tripod?
    The action usually is too wild and unpredictable to handle with a tripod,
    so I was wondering if there are some tricks to make a camcorder a shoulder cam?
    Or at least some kind of "rifle" mount to press it against your chest?

I'm looking forward to hearing from a few pro's!

- Sven

Let me start out by saying I'm not a "pro".

There are some shoulder mount rigs you can buy but they are a bit costly for what they are. I'm sure you could rig something up after looking at some. HERE IS AN EXAMPLE or THIS I've even heard of people bolting the camera to a plank of wood and sitting it on their shoulder.