Thread: Broken Rules

Red face Broken Rules

I am a newbie, I had very basic instruction in film making in the 1960s. I have been shooting video since Video eight/VHSC came in.
    I have read and accept that I have broken every single one of the "ten comandments" sticky.
    Now I am retrospectively seeking ANY helpful advice on how to use the material.

The opportunity arose to shoot a unique situation. There was no script it was shot strictly fly on the wall. The camera, only one was a straight eight mill, sound was on camera mic, footage, about three hours, maybe more, was both tripod and hand held.

No commentary, no interviews, no personalities.

An outline is this. On the UK M4, a bridge, 2000indivisible tons was lifted off its plinths, turned into line with the road and carried off the motorway for demolition.
    I have the special units being constructed, the units being moved into place, the bridge being lifted and lowered to ground level, and being driven away, being controlled from a consol.

Then the units being dis assembled and trucked away.

I should have scripted, I should have had an assistant and a seperate mic, I should have interviewed Etc.etc.etc.

I now have transferred the tapes to DVD, as I don't have a capture card and I have fairly basic editing software.

When the derision subsides, help ful advice will be wecome.
    Thanks for reading.

Blog Entries

Without seeing the footage it's hard to visualise. However, it does sound that a "timelapse" video would fit the bill here. Not very insightful or creative, I know!

I agree that some of it could be time lapsed. You could also try some retrospective interviews interspersed with the footage you have. That would mean tracking down the people involved with the project, if thats possible.

Thanks, Marc and Midnight,