Thread: DVD Burning

Default DVD Burning

Hi Everybody

I'm new to video editing and I'm using Studio 9. I've completed two projects of about two hours length each. My problem is: Creating a DVD takes too long (More than 8 hrs). I'm not sure if this is normal or there is something I'm doing wrong. Please help...

(Rendering it to a file into the hard drive takes reasonably short time though)

pml:

I have found that rendering just is a patience area. I really feel that it has allot to do with how long your project is and what your make up of computer is. Obviously the faster the processor and higher the memory the better and speedier things are.

What I typically do is just walk away and let the computer do it's thing. I make sure that ALL other applications are turned off or shut down and wait patiently for the end result. Nothing is running except for Pinnacle.

You are right that going to hard drive vs burning direct to DVD is quicker as I have found this out as well.

Maybe someone on this board can give us a ball park time frame of how rendering should go and how long etc... For instance a 2 hour video will take XXXX number of minutes or hours to render. :

Scooter
    AMD Athlon 3200
    Asus A7N8X Dlux
    ATI Video
    1 Gig Mem
    Windows XP Pro
    2 Seagate ATA 160 Gig HD,1 Maxtor 120 Gig HD
    Sony DRU-510 DVD/CD Burner
    Viewsonic 19\"LCD
    Pinnacle 10 PlusMediaSuite
    PremierPro 1.5 Suite
    Sony HVR-A1U 1080i HDV Camcorder

Pml, I was debating how I would approach burning as well. In a couple of tests, I found that Nero handled one hour's worth of video in less than two hours. But I must have done something wrong because the result was not that good.

In your case, does saving to the hard drive and then separately burning to the DVD take less than eight hours?

Default render time