Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Canon 7D issue

  1. #1

    Default Canon 7D issue

    So I have made the jump to tapeless recording and DSLRness.

    However I have come across a significant problem and cant decide wether or not its me not being very adaptive with the new kit or that the camera is faulty.

    Basically I am experiences lines throughout my footage whenever there is significant movement.
    Initially I thought that the card I was borrowing was too slow, the camera did as well suggest this with its warning markers flash in away on my screen. So I picked up a new flash card at 400x (reports tell me that 150x should be adequate so I figured 400 would be more than enough to deal with HD) but I still have the same problem but without flashy warnings to tell me its the card at fault.

    So, to anyone in the know... is this my card? have I been cursed with a faulty chip or am I just being a little bit slow and setting something up wrong.

    Here is an example, its not really up for criticism since the whole thing is compressed quickly for web in order to demonstrate the concept to artist and present my problem to you and generally needs to be reshot anyway.
    The most noticeable is within any hand movement (first one about 10seconds in)

    password is robot


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    267

    Default

    I can't see any problem at all 10 seconds in or anywhere else ... I wish I could upload my video to look that good!

  3. Default

    I see what you mean.

    I suspect that it's a problem caused by frame rates.

    Could it be that you've shot at 30fps or 24fps and, during the editing, have converted to 25fps (or any variation thereof)?

  4. #4

    Default

    its so slight but is glaringly obvious to me and I have it on a bunch of footage shot since for clients which I am certain they are going to notice., its driving me crazy!

    As the hand winds up the robot, the main surface area of the hand that coomes into shot briefly (bottom of my thumb connecting to wrist) has a couple of horizontal blocky lines appear as if not all of the information has been captured properly.
    more like 12 seconds, sorry.

    (thanks for the compliment mike! )

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I'm useless with these techy things, but is it a case of Rolling Shutter? rolling shutter 7d - Google Search

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Braveheart View Post
    I see what you mean.

    I suspect that it's a problem caused by frame rates.

    Could it be that you've shot at 30fps or 24fps and, during the editing, have converted to 25fps (or any variation thereof)?
    aha! good idea! I'll check on that, Thanks!

  7. Default

    In my experience (sounds good doesn't it, in fact it means that I played with a DSLR once) the rolling shutter effect just gives moving objects a slant, it doesn't cut them off as brutally as in this footage which is why I think that the pull-down conversion is at fault.

    But I may be wrong... I often am!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    267

    Default

    Ok, this is worrying me now! I have replayed the 12s hand coming in over and over and can't see an issue! I have even played it full screen and still can't see anything wrong.

    Could it be that certain types of screen pick up this fault, and others don't?

    If not, then my attention to detail is clearly horrendous!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Braveheart View Post
    In my experience (sounds good doesn't it, in fact it means that I played with a DSLR once) the rolling shutter effect just gives moving objects a slant, it doesn't cut them off as brutally as in this footage which is why I think that the pull-down conversion is at fault.
    To be honest, I was plucking terms out of the air without thinking Shame on me...

  10. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    To be honest, I was plucking terms out of the air without thinking ...
    Good man! We'll make a pro out of you yet.

    (Or at least get you to bullshit well enough that you can pretend to be an expert, this is the internet after all.)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. canon xm2 head/recording issue
    By komatoast in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2009, 09:41 PM
  2. Sony HC62 vs Canon md235 / Canon MD205
    By greenmanuk in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-19-2009, 11:04 PM
  3. canon hv20 24p pulldown issue
    By pxl666 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-25-2008, 04:32 PM
  4. Help!! Canon XL1 Firewire issue
    By Nalehp in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 11:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •