Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: JVC DV Camcorder GRD-72u and video capture

  1. #1

    Default JVC DV Camcorder GRD-72u and video capture

    Hi

    We are completely new to this and only bought the camera to capture our new baby which is due in 2 weeks time (so time is of the essence!)

    We have downloaded the JVC software from the site, bought a firewire etc and still when trying to capture our dv tapes to pc receive nothing on XP. We have tried using MovieMaker but it says it is starting a capture and then stops at 5kb with a black screen on the preview. It obviously recognises the camera as it remotely controls it.

    We have checked that we have the latest upgrades for Direct X and also downloaded Service packs 2 and 3 from Microsoft.

    Basically we are at the end of our tether!!!

    Please help

    Thank you

    (we are also unable to set up the camera as a webcam as it says we should be able to)
    PRR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    I'd recommend downloading a free trial of one of the popular cheap editing packages, just to see whether it's the hardware or the woftware that's causing the problem.

    Try Premiere Elements: http://www.adobe.co.uk/products/trya...emiereelements

    (I hope you're on Broadband though - it's 515MB). You have to be using Windows XP, and seeing as you mentioned serive pack 3, i'm not sure if you are.

    Or maybe Pinnacle Studio: http://www.pinnaclesys.com/docloader_n.asp?templ=10&doclink=/WebVideo/studioavdvdeluxeversion9/English(US)/doc/Download_StudioPLUS_US.htm&Product_ID=1501&Langue_ ID=7&loc=doc173&division_id=

    Oh, and good luck with the babba... A friend of mine is due to give birth today, but there's no sign of the little one turning up on time

  3. #3

    Default Still not working :cry:

    Thanks for your advice

    I have downloaded both of these pieces of software, both will control the camcorder but still captures nothing. The preview screen remains blank!!!

    Getting very frustrated now
    .
    PRR

Similar Threads

  1. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  2. Pinnacle9 DV capture from Sony HC22 camcorder
    By tse-tse in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-04-2005, 09:54 AM
  3. Mini DVD Camcorder VOB/VRO file capture/editing suggestions
    By Vidiconian in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-29-2005, 06:34 PM
  4. cant capture/import files from my camcorder
    By Bobby Dooley in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2005, 04:18 PM
  5. Capture Card query/ Old Camcorder to PC
    By gemma in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-07-2004, 03:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •