Thread: Mic too far from subject.

Default Mic too far from subject.

I've looked at a few forums on how to enhance the vocals of an interview subject considering the microphone, a Rode stereo X/Y Condenser Microphone, is a bit too far from the subject, so his voice sounds flat and there's not much depth to it. I'm new to this whole game and I've looked at a couple of forums, which have said I can "gate" use dynamic filter or graphic equalizer to remove the audio trails, because there's a little bit of reverb to it, but I don't know how to do any of this. Also there's some reverb in the room, not too much, but basically his voice needs to be given some depth to it. Is there anyway someone can give me some user-friendly details on how to do this? Also is it possible to fix this using high-end consumer audio editing software or am I going to have to go into a studio of some sorts and get it professionally fixed. I've attached a sample here

I'm not an audio expert but it doesn't sound bad at all. It should be easy to tweak it with the software you have. Just be careful not to go over the top and make it sound worse.

Hi there, I wrote a tutorial on how to fix just that! If you have Soundtrack Pro on a mac, or other software like Protools and the Serento Pitch n'Time plugin, you should be able to fix in a snap, as long as you have a sample where a speaker was at the right position to the mike. Go here for free video instructions:

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by bluestupa View Post
    Hi there, I wrote a tutorial on how to fix just that!
    That link seems to be to fixing a totally different audio problem (time stretching and balancing between two takes)

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by louisdai View Post
    I've attached a sample here louisdai - Sample - SoundCloud
    Any chance you can post a downloadable version.