Thread: Raid with video in mind....

1. Default Raid with video in mind....

Hi there I am new to raid. My priority is safety but I dont want to lose speed - gaining speed would be great! Could anyone answer these questions please:

1. if my system is already installed and up and running with loads of programs is there a way of changing my system drive to raid in any way?

2. I currently have a VelociRaptor sata II 10k rpm drive for my system does anyone think I should go for raid 1 or 10 (I am assuming this is the same as 1+0)? Or will raid 1 slow me down (with 2 raptor system, drives) and 10 not improve anything much (4 raptor drives)? I do HD video work so HD speed is nice but the raptor is already not too bad. My other option is to just use cobian back up on to an external drive which I will do with or without raid.

3. I assume if I make a raid drive for my work it would be no problem?

So backing up with cobian will be my way for now I am just wondering if raid would be an option worth going for later?

My mother board is p5k deluxe with j micron controller : ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards - P5K3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP

Anyway just give your opinion if you can - ie which raid you use/think is best for video thanks!

running windows 7 64 bit...

2. Default

Ah I see your problem - what you need to do is post this in a forum were people know about it.

3. Default

Ah ok - so join another forum ok good idea! This forum rocks!

Blog Entries

Most of us here are video editors, not computer techies - we generally get other people to help out! A good racing driver may know the basics of engineering, but the mechanic looks after the car.
    Posted via Mobile Device

5. Default

Yer I guessed that that's why i did the joke ill be back later with video questions :P ....