Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Connecting a laptop to PC for remote editing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Connecting a laptop to PC for remote editing

    I think I need a new PC. I'm a patient man, but all of this converting to edit, replacing to export and waiting hours to render is just a pain. And that assumes you get it right for time.

    I could pick up a fast PC for less than 500, but I want a laptop, and I don't want to spend thousands. Any techie out there suggest a cheap way of using my laptop to connect remotely to a desktop?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Sorry, Marc. I don't understand what you are trying to achieve.
    Do you mean you want to have your fast desktop holed up somewhere (eg at home) while you connect remotely to it from your laptop, such that you actually do the editing on the desktop PC, but control it via your laptop? Connected via internet?

    A straightforward Windows Remote Desktop (aka RDP = remote desktop protocol) will do that. It would probably be as good as you'll get as only the keystrokes/mouse movements and the screen refreshes are sent over the connection. It might work for rough edits but for precise cutting to music it won't cut the mustard. And you would not want to be trying to transfer your raw footage from laptop to desktop.

    It's probably a workable soution if you're thinking of a local network connection though (ie desktop in loft, you in lounge) especially if wired.
    Tim

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I was thinking remote desktop via LAN would be an option. However, I wasn't sure what software was needed on the host. The client side, I understand, is native to Windows, but would I need Windows Server on the host?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    No. Windows XP (or anything) Pro is enough. (Not sure about Home - I don't really come across it often).
    On the "server" (ie the desktop), if you Right-Click on "My Computer" and go to properties, you'll see a tab called "Remote". There's a checkbox "Allow users to connect remotely to this computer". There's also an option to select which users.
    Note that when the remote user is logged on they are logged on - ie the desktop is inaccessible from its own keyboard and the screen is blanked.
    Tim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Update: Just done a quick check. You do need Windows Professional on the host side. And it seems to be the same (as I'd expect) in Win 7
    Remote Desktop Connection: frequently asked questions
    Tim

  6. #6

    Default

    Whilst this is an interesting idea I fear the experience in reality my be a little disappointing but wish you luck with the venture. My experience with this sort of set up is all laggy screen refreshes and over and under clicking of the mouse clicking of the mouse. :(

    For example in Vegas to start and stop the preview you hit the space bar but because of the lag of the screen over a network you will find it hard to hit the mark.

  7. #7

    Default

    VNC (RealVNC - VNC remote control software) is a popular choice for Users without suitable versions of Windows.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimAndrews View Post
    VNC (RealVNC - VNC remote control software) is a popular choice for Users without suitable versions of Windows.
    Thanks for the reminder, Tim. It's a few years since I've used it but it was then, and I guess is still, a good, straightforward product which "does what it says on the tin"
    Tim

Similar Threads

  1. HELP!! Connecting Panasonic NV EX3 to laptop
    By sarah2.0 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-26-2009, 04:19 PM
  2. Connecting Laptop to TV - Help please
    By Jat90 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2009, 10:22 AM
  3. editing on a laptop
    By swellbean in forum Ebay and other classified ads: gear, cameras and video editing stuff
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 03:58 PM
  4. Laptop editing
    By FNG in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2006, 12:16 AM
  5. Editing Laptop
    By Dom in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 04-15-2005, 02:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •