Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Three questions about Sony Vegas Movie Studio

Default Three questions about Sony Vegas Movie Studio

I'm new to this so any help would do. First of all, I'm just getting into video/slideshow editing (purely for family fun, nothing professional, just need something to edit my personal stuff) and have narrowed my search of a editing program down to two programs, Sony Vegas Movie studio + DVD and Power Director 4.0 (heard 3.0 sucked) and am having a hard time deciding. Any recommendations. These two are the only ones that I am considering. (also considered Adobe, but read that it's mainly for DV editing, and I haven't got a dv camera yet)
    I'm leaning towards Sony, because of the stability and the great templates, but I've encountered one (to me anyway) huge complaint with this editing software..... on to the second question.
    I've downloaded the trial version of Sony Vegas Movie Studio (downloaded Power Director 3.0 also...Cyberlink won't allow a 4.0 preview..and this version crashes every now and then...thus making me consider Sony) and noticed that everytime I import a MP3 or sound file, it creates the following file extension " .sfap0 ", and it doesn't delete itself after I'm done with the editing. This file is huge, normally 5-6 times the diskspace of my original MP3 (40 Mbs average). I have to manually enter my music folder and delete it on my own. I've tried contacting Sony's tech center, with no response in about 5 days now. Is there a way to disable this, or at least make Sony delete the file after I'm done editing?
    Third (sorry for so many questions)...is there a way to make the Vegas program automatically backup my projects? I read the manual and I may have missed it, but I've worked on a couple of projects and the program crashed and I lost all my work...my own fault for not backing it up, but is there a way to make it automatic? Thanks for any help.