Thread: Sony HandyCam - can't import video files???

Default Sony HandyCam - can't import video files???

I recently bought a Sony Handycam HDR-CX500V. I was very happy with the camera. Since I am new to camcorders it took me a while to figure out how to import videos from the camera to my computer but when I did it, I enjoyed making DVDs for my friends and family. 2 months ago I went on vacation to Europe where I took a lot of still pictures and videos with my camcorder. A couple of days before I left Europe I wanted to burn all my videos to a DVD however when I installed the software on my friend’s computer I could import only still pictures but not the videos from the camera. I did not have time to deal with it then thinking I did not install the software correctly so I decided to try importing videos when I get home, where the software was already installed and importing videos was easy. When I came home and tried to do it again I could not do it! Only the still pictures were imported but not the videos. I can playback the videos in the camera so I know nothing was deleted or changed as far as videos are concerned and I reinstalled the software before trying again too – same thing! I am guessing it’s something with the camcorder itself – may be a setting or something else - my friends connected it to a TV in Europe a couple of times. Does anybody know what might be the problem??? Please help me I really need the videos on DVD

I have a similar problem with my HDR CX110E. Except that it stopped working for me after I downloaded the PMB update.

Thinking that was the problem, I uninstalled the app and reinstalled the older version of PMB. Have had no luck so far.

Please HELP!!!