Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Move Video From Timeline back to "All Media"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Escondido CA
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation Move Video From Timeline back to "All Media"

    I would like to drag or copy a small video segment back to the Media bin for use later. Can this be done? I tried dragging; then tried cut and paste..no luck.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Escondido CA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redblanchard View Post
    I would like to drag or copy a small video segment back to the Media bin for use later. Can this be done? I tried dragging; then tried cut and paste..no luck.
    I forgot to mention it is in Vegas 9 PRO dragging from timeline. Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I presume you mean that you have the whole clip in the Media Bin but a trimmed version on the timeline and you want to have the trimmed version in the Media Bin so that it is readily accessible.

    Select your trimmed version (of "myclip") on the timeline, right click and select "Create subclip". Your Media Bin will now cmagically contain "myclip - subclip 1"
    Tim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Escondido CA
    Posts
    3

    Default Thanks for solving my problem.

    That was fast action. and I thank you for your lucid and specific answer to my request. I may be the only 90-year old geezer editing Video, and was glad to get an answer the same day I asked the question.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by redblanchard View Post
    I may be the only 90-year old geezer editing Video,
    You may be surprised. Up until quite recently we had two members in our video club in their 90s. Just one left now, but many knocking on the door.

    Glad to be of assistance.
    Last edited by TimStannard; 07-08-2010 at 09:08 AM. Reason: typos
    Tim

  6. #6

    Default

    can this be done in vegas movie studio 9? I was looking for exactly this!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I don't think subclips are available in Movie Studio. You could look up regions - a bit more work, but it might go some way towards what you want.
    Tim

  8. #8

    Default

    Thanks for this, I'll try it. Though I have to be honest - I have no idea what to do!
    I'm making a music video and I have 10 shots that I've synched with the audio. I've grouped the individual events, but its an absolute long winded nightmare to piece it all together into the finished film. I was just seeing if there was an easier way to do it. Thanks for your advice anyway.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you're worried about losing the sync (and I don't blame you) just render out what you've done and use that as source media for a new project. So long as you keep the format the same, you wn't lose any quality, no matter how many times you e-ender. That's the beauty of digital.
    Tim

  10. #10

    Default

    So... what exactly do I do? Thanks again!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. "Back Down" - A short film shot on the 550D/T2i
    By Sarghm in forum User Videos
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-19-2010, 10:32 AM
  2. Seemingly random events on timeline are blank (not a "Media Offline" issue)
    By Ray AP19 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 03:14 PM
  3. Cannot open "edit generated media"
    By RSp in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2008, 10:09 AM
  4. "pixel gross" and "video actual", the difference?
    By Krumiro in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2007, 02:58 PM
  5. "Jumpy" when recording back to camera
    By MaryD in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-04-2004, 05:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •