Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help with chopping up 4 hours of vid - total noob!

Default Need help with chopping up 4 hours of vid - total noob!

Hi guys

I'm in a real pickl at the moment. I've just been to Glastonbury Festival and got nearly 4 hours of video which i want to chop up into individual files but everything I have used is just too tedious or i haven't got a clue wtf to do.

I'm a total noob when it comes to video editing. I'm an amatuer photographer normally but have just decided to cross the border over into the video world and it's all a bit confusing

I've got myself Sony Vegas 9 but i'm having real trouble learning what to do and google searches aren't exactly helping me much.

Basically i want to load each 90 min length of video into a program and be able to select all the individual bits and then have them chopped up and saved individually all in one go... Is this even possible?
    Otherwise what is the other alternative?

Thanks,
    Richy

2. Default

Windows Movie Maker...

Drop in all your individual 4 hour clips and then drop them onto the timeline then start deleting stuff you do not want.

its not really a case of deleting what I don't want - I want everything... it's just i want every individual piece i shot within the larger 90min files as separate individual files... Surely there's a way to mark everything up and have it all saved as individual little chunks with a push of a button?

It just seems to time consuming otherwise

4. Default

Ok...let's pretend that I have painted a 50FT brick wall.

Then someone comes along and say's to me "can you break it up into separate pieces?"

I say "sure, but it's going to take a lot of time to break it up safely"

You have painted a 90min file...Now I am not sure in Vegas if this is possible but in Final cut express you can tell the imported tape footage: