Thread: Moving Yet Fixed Text?!

Question Moving Yet Fixed Text?!

Hi guys, tried to search for an answer to this question but i don't know what the 'technique' is called so i couldn't find it. Apologies if it has been asked before.

I want to fix a line of text to a certain reference point in a video but as the video moves (eg a pan), have the text move smoothly with it so that it remains fixed to the reference point in the video as it moves across the screen. As you can see i'm relatively new to all this so i'm probably using the wrong terminology. Hope my question makes sense.

I've seen it done in a few films and TV programs like Zombieland, The Losers and even hollyoaks (so it can't be that hard to do ).

I know i can zoom down to frame by frame in Vegas and do it manually with loads of tiny text boxes every couple of frames. I had a very quick go and it seems to work ok if you have a very obvious reference point within the video that you want to fix it too. But obviously it would take ages to do that properly so i just wanted to ask you guys if there was an easier way to do it first?

Quote Originally Posted by ceej View Post
    I know i ...do it manually with loads of tiny text boxes every couple of frames. I had a very quick go . . . if there was an easier way to do it first?
    STOP!!!! - And yes there is . . "Track Motion" is one way. You actually "Move" the Text Event in relationship with the movie - great fun! Or Text "Placement", this allows you to place text at any given point. Personal preference? Track motion.

Please don't make loadsa single Frame Text events - horrible and the way of madness! - You were correct, there IS a better way.

Hi Ceej! Welcome to the forums.

I believe this [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8MVTN5v_ghs&feature=channel]keyframing tutorial[/ame] covers the effect you're looking for?

Y'know I watched that video and studied very carefully, just how it was done. IMO - STOP . . don't do it that way.