Thread: Pro cam audio with electronic drums question.

Default Pro cam audio with electronic drums question.

Hey guys and gals. I have dabbled in the past with making drum cover videos for YouTube where I play along to a track. The method to now has been: run a cable from L&R outs of my electronic drums module (Yamaha DTXPRESS IV Special) to the mic in on my camcorder (Basic Samsung one-budget) This has worked fine but with a static camera angle all the time I have become bored with it and wanted to try something a bit more adventureous..........

Firstly so you can see what the sort of thing I do is, here is a Youtube link:

Now, the kind of thing I want to do is have my kit in open space with like a track around it with a camera on a tripod. Forgive me if I give the things the wrong names as I am by no means an expert on this. Nowhere near to be precise..... I think this may be called a "Dolly Rig" I also would like a static camera overhead somewhere looking down and a moveable one held by a friend. I hear you can get like a harness to wear with the camera in so it is smooth when moving. Glide something.......

I have none of this gear but seen online that it can all be hired for day, weekend etc. I like the look of the Canon XL2. Or similar. Again, I do not have much knowlege on this at all.

I just don't understand how I can get my normal 1/4 inch L&R Out-Jacks on my drum module to go into the XLR in-puts on the camera. Will there be other inputs?? I don't really want to record audio and video seperately (which I can do easier I know) because it gives me a big headache when trying to sync it all up :-/ All the videos on my YouTube page are done by recording the audio and video through camcorder so it stays perfectly in time.

So, that's the gear and set-up side dealt with, now the aftermath of editing.