Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: In car camera ?

Default In car camera ?

First of all i know very little about video, so i thought this would be the place for some advice. Im a photographer and also do the odd bit of incar footage. I have a go pro hd and its grand but its not 100% accurate when setting up in the car. Also i want to have a camera showing infront and a 2nd on the driver or rear view. Ive found a system i like and would like some advice on wheather it will do what i want. I would like to be able to put the footage on a dvd for playback on a tv. Would it be good enough quality to watch. Here is the link to the system ive found.................... HQR-C2 twin picture in picture bullet camera package

2. Default

Ive owned and used the same model but the single camera version, the twin camera one is the same in terms of quality etc

As for watching it on the TV, yes, its perfectly watchable , but your never going to be overly impressed by anything that comes in Bullet Camera form , well, not until into next year when they start releasing the High Def ones ( said with a pinch of salt as it will be similar to things like the GoPro and Contour, so good, but not great )

As for the HQR - in terms of flexibility its great, you can put them anywhere, so its worth it for that reason

Heres some samples of a few old jobs i used it for , its obviously a bit compressed for Youtube , but it gives you an idea

- Mikko Hirvonen from front screen

- Off Roading

- and this one shows it on the roof of a car and pointing at the driver

As you can probably tell too, the light is a problem with them , so i would recomend you ask them for the WDR1 camera for the reat cage, and a normal bullet cam will be fine for the driver facing one ( the WDR1 has adjustable settings to compensate for bright light )

It doesnt help for a driver facing shot, but i have used a Samsung HMX-10 as in in-car camera recently, some decent quality HD footage for about 100 + mount etc

3. Default