Thread: First Semi-Pro Camera

Default First Semi-Pro Camera

Hello Eveyone,

I'm here looking for advice. I'm currently a student entering into my third year of university in the UK studying Film and TV and I'm looking to buy my own semi-proffessional camera. My Budget is between 2500 and 3000 and absolute maximum ($3600-$4300 on the day of posting). I have several questions that I've found through hours of researching and looking at the many cameras around.

I would like to go HD but is it entirely necessary?

I have been looking at the Canon Xl-H1A but this is way out of my price bracket new, several are on Ebay just about within my price range, is it worth going second hand or am I asking for trouble there?

In a similar vein to the HD question, how does the Canon XL 2 stack up in comparison with the Xl-H1a?

As you may have noticed I've looked at the Canon XL series alot, is this the best way to go for what I want? I've also looked at other brands too, JVC, Sony and Panasonic, how do they all stack up?

Do I even need to spend as much as I've budgeted or can I get similar quality from slightly cheaper cameras?

Sorry about the length and all the questions but it's going to be a while before I finally scrape together the money to finally buy a camera and I want to ensure I get something that will last me a good few years after university doing my own projects. Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated.

2. Default

We own a Canon XH-A1 and you could not find a better "starter" pro camera in the cannon range.

Yes the manual focus control is a bit jittery but it has pretty much everything else you would want.

I would suggest the XH-A1 to you over the XL-H1A.

3 reasons to go for the XH-A1

It is expensive enough to do everything you could want to do as a pro without the serious expense.
    It is cheap enough so if (god forbid) something were to happen to it you won't break down in tears.
    You can still do "HD"