Thread: Filming School Events?

1. Default Filming School Events?

Hi Guys,

I found some very useful information on this site when googling so I thought I would join. I found some helpful answers but I wanted to get others opinions on a specific matter. I have been asked to film an event at a school (a dance recital) and obviously the subjects being filmed are children. I've never worked in this area before and I was curious about the procedure.

I am presuming each child performing will need their parent or guardian to sign a consent form saying they permit their child to be filmed? I apologise that this may seem like a very naive question, but I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing. Also would it be suggested that a sign it put in the lobby stating the performance will be filmed?

Christ, what a red tape nightmare!

Thanks for any help or advice.

the school should have permissions slips all ready as part of the data the schools needs.

Having the sign is a good idea, but generally you only get backs of heads in the audience, unless its two cameras with reaction shots.

You do not need any police checks as you will not be alone with any children,

3. Default

Thanks for your reply.

I telephoned the school where the event was taking place and all of the kids already have permission to be filmed in a group setting - so you were spot on with that. It is the schools responsibility (according to the school) to obtain all the relevant permissions.

I will also include a sign near the entrance stating that we have permission to film and have obtained the relevant permissions (to please the more sensitive parents).

It's not as tricky as I initially thought, I did presume that police checks etc would be part of the process. Thanks for your advice, hopefully others may find this advice useful too.

4. Default