Thread: First ever Demo Reel

Default First ever Demo Reel

I'm completely new to the professional world, right out of college looking for jobs to get started in, hopefully in freelance video editing. I've found a few postings so I made this demo reel with the best stuff I had. The only section that can be added is one for my theatrical production filming, but none of the places I'm applying will be looking for that so I just left it out. Please be honest but helpful with me as I'm completely new to all of this. Being straight out of college I don't have a terribly large body of work so I tried to pick the best of what I did have. Look forward to hearing from you all.

George Doss
    "The Genius Chicken"

EDIT: I realize now most people don't feel like downloading a video just to watch it one time. Lesson learned. Here's a link to it on creative COW. Enjoy.

First Ever Demo Reel - Creative COW
    Last edited by mousey333; 06-08-2010 at 06:32 PM.

and a quick bump to move it back up

Looks pretty good. I felt like it was a bit random and drawn out in places, though. I understand how you wanted to start out with a bit of an action sequence, but I'd recommend starting with the training video footage because it looks more professional.

And although it contains some great choreography, I'd take much of the "Fight" short film out completely as it very much looks like some teenagers goofing around (no offense). Don't take it out completely, though, because it does say "I can do action stuff, too." Same thing with the Emo virtual band contest clips.

Cut back the wedding video as well. Keep the kiss and the flower girls (but trim that a bit), but cut the preacher out completely because you can't hear him.

I liked the Psycho SWAT short. Brings a little comedy to the demo real

All in all, trim a bit here and there and lead with your very best (quality & impress factor) work.