Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Panning speed control

1. Default Panning speed control

I am very new to videography but decided this was the hobby for me and spent a fair amount on some kit as I thought if I dig my hand deep into my pocket I will be more inclined to knuckle down to the hobby proper!

One thing I am very disappointed with is my inability to pan at a constant speed. I have a Canon XH-A1 and a Libec tripod, recommended by the retailer for the camera, it has a very smooth pan action, it's me that cannot maintain a constant speed / fluid motion. I slow and speed-up, slow down again and give the occasional jerk. I spent two hours yesterday trying to master this across a 160 degree pan.

I've reached the stage where I am thinking of getting the old Dansette portable record player out and mounting the camera on that -after a small gearing change

So, how did you learn to pan?
    Last edited by georgeksli; 05-24-2010 at 10:41 PM.

It's just a case of feeling the camera weight on the tripod handle getting use to how it feels. Try doing shorter pans at first, perhaps no more than 90o at first and when you've mastered that try wider pans.

It really is mostly down to practise. I've been doing it for some years and I'm still practising.

3. Default

Thanks for the reassurance

I wonder if anyone has actually made a device that motorises panning?

There are motorised panning heads but they are very expensive.

Blog Entries

Two things spring to mind (apart from wondering whether a pan of 160degrees actually adds anything to your film )
    1. You should always set up for your final shot, and then twist to the starting shot. This will give you a better "feel" as you unwind your body and the camera comes to rest at your body's rest position.
    2. Loop an elastic band over the pan handle and pull that. This should (a) give you a nice smooth start and (b) smooth out some of jerkiness your hand movement makes.
    Tim

6. Default